It Seemed Like A Good Idea At The Time

I started blogging in December 2006. Had absolutely no idea what blogging was, having never read a blog before deciding to create one of my own. So, unsurprisingly, I gave it a stupid generic name — Marketing ROI — which I later changed to Marketing Whims (Idea, passing thought, fool notion, or What It Means).

After two years, I felt that I was spending too much time on the blog, so I stopped blogging. After about six months, I missed the writing and decided to create another blog, and give it a name that would reflect a tone and message that I wanted to get across.

When I hit on the Tea Party concept, I thought it was perfect. For me, the notion of a tea party conjured up two notions: the Boston Tea Party, which signified revolution, and Alice in Wonderland’s tea party, which signified whimsy (and perhaps other connotations that I was perfectly OK with).

A third notion quickly took hold, and became what is probably the first notion to come to mind when hearing the term tea party: The conservative political movement.

My own political leanings aside, it doesn’t — or shouldn’t — take long to figure out that this blog has nothing to do with the political movement. But for the better part of the past year, I’ve wondered if I’m failing to gain potential readers (most, probably from searches) because of the name.

For the past year, I’ve let it go, figuring that if you’re not smart enough to tell the difference, then I don’t want you reading my blog anyway. Life’s too short to deal with the helplessly ignorant.

But I’ve decided that it’s time to make the change. The straw that broke the camel’s back was a comment that was left on another site, that the owner of the site decided not to publish, but shared with me. This particular genius, responding to a comment I made regarding Bank Transfer Day wrote:

“It seems that Ron Shevlin is the creator of a blog called The Marketing Tea Party. I want to thank him and the anonymous author at [website] for outing themselves.  Or is Ron Shevlin the anonymous author of this article? No, he wouldn’t quote himself twice in the article, would he? And then create the first comment? No, no Ron, tell us it isn’t true! I did a whois on [website]. Ownership is hidden behind a shell company. Tell us, Ron, might you be the owner? Ron, there is definitely a great future for you at one of the 20 TBTF Wall Street Banks. Or are you already on the payroll?”

What a moron. First off, to figure out that I was the creator of a blog called Marketing Tea Party, all this moron had to do was click on my name in my comment on the website, and he’d be taken to this website. Second, figuring out who owns the website in question is no mystery, nor is it owned by a shell company. And third, if you go to the About page of this blog, it clearly says who I work for, and we make no secret of the fact that our clients are financial institutions, many of whom would be considered TBTW Wall Street Banks.

Not to appear like I’m caving because of one lunatic, I did receive this advice from someone whose opinion I highly value:

“Getting rid of the Tea Party bit is a good idea, simply because of the connotation and the kind of traffic you likely attract. It does make you sound like you’re affiliated with that group. When tweeting your posts, I’ve been deleting the title of your blog. You should use the Snarketing name. Marketing ROI sounds a little generic and doesn’t really convey the personality of your posts.”

That was enough for me. Time to kill the Marketing Tea Party moniker.

So, starting with my next blog post, I’ll be blogging at Snarketing2dot0.com.  Yes, snarketing.com was taken, and my attempts to contact the owner of the URL have gone nowhere.

Now, I’m quite aware that the reference to snarkiness isn’t for everyone, either.  But to that, I’d like to quote Atomic Tango:

“Snark is not to everyone’s tastes. Some consider it too mean, and also a significant contributor to the decline of American civility. To which I say, get over it. Snark constitutes the perfect antidote to the nonsense being bandied about by self-proclaimed social media “gurus” and “thought leaders” — nonsense that could waste the time and money of all the innocent people that these charlatans sucker, I mean, consult, I mean, sucker.”

Hope you’ll follow me over to Snarketing2dot0.

15 thoughts on “It Seemed Like A Good Idea At The Time

  1. Being a card carrying snarkalist I am pleased to find that there is now a blog for people like me. Hopefully you will be able to convince the world that financial institutions won’t die without gen y, that financial literacy is a waste of $$ and that serving the underserved is unprofitable. These are all topics that seemed like a good idea at the time, but now need some consideration. I have noticed that you have gotten even more snarky as the years have passed and so being mistaken for a Wall Street tool may have been inevitable. A new name for a great blog, now that’s about the sweetest piece of pumpkin pie I could think of on this day before Thanksgiving. Happy Turkey Day, Ron.

  2. I have no problem moving from the Marketing Tea Party movement to the Snarketing2dot0 movement. Heck, Bankingdotcom prepared me for such nuances to blogs. The good news is that you aren’t taking time off and the new blog is a great cross promotion for a great book. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

